Julie Mitchell's CoachNotes

ACHIEVE YOUR VISION . . . ONE STEP AT A TIME.

Bless the Scrooges and Give Thanks

Leave a comment

I wish you a happy, healthy holiday season! If happy healthy wishes seem empty and leave you grumpy, I’ve felt that way, too. As 2009 draws to a close I’m sending extra good wishes to loved ones, friends and colleagues who are anxious, sad or angry because of significant losses. It has been a tough year for many and it’s difficult to express joy to the world when it seems the world is falling apart. However, I prefer to focus on what’s good, especially this time of year.

I’ve been told that my positive attitude can be annoying. What people don’t realize is that I’m dealing with my own assortment of worries. Such is the human condition and I’m far from exempt. I just prefer to face the dragons with a smile.

Especially when I’m not in the best of moods, I’m determined to bless the Scrooges I encounter, such as the scowling woman who almost knocked over my grocery cart yesterday. I’m also committed to being grateful. Counting my blessings makes things better. I’m thankful for recognizing good things and I believe this awareness is one of the best things about growing older (aging is a growth process and is NOT an inevitable deterioration)!

Once upon a time of abundance (circa 1999) I thanked my biggest client through sponsoring a holiday breakfast. While employees ate I presented a talk on communicating appreciation to co-workers and customers. People listened politely and thanked me for the food, but I don’t remember comments about my message. Perhaps that’s because I understood too little about gratitude. I suspect my words lacked the depth that comes only through experience. Ten years ago, I took so much for granted. Today, I have more appreciation for what matters.

I’m thankful for wonderful clients who found ways to continue working with me in 2009 despite lack of funds. I’m grateful for my health and my home. I appreciate living in an area full of amazing, smart, creative people who challenge and inspire me. Most of all, I’m thankful for family, friends, love and special people who have believed in me through thick and thin.

Who do you want to thank this time of year? Have you counted your blessings lately? Some gifts are free and easy to give, like a smile and heartfelt words of praise to someone who has made a difference to you. Try it, even if — especially if — you or the other person is in a “bah, humbug” state of mind.

Author: Julie Mitchell

Julie Mitchell is an executive coach, facilitator, professional speaker and senior consultant who can help you create more positive working relationships, improve your performance, and achieve goals through understanding and practicing effective communication on every level.

Leave a Reply

